How I used Spartacus to empower my life

Sometimes, movies don’t end as we want them to. The great hero -that noble, tender, lovely person we absolutely love-, dies right before our eyes. And we cry, unequivocally.

We would love the story to end with everyone living happily ever after, but it doesn’t. And the director just breaks our hearts.

Now, after crying, you dry your tears and remember that it is just a movie, and smile. But what happen when it is about real life? What happen when the story doesn’t end the way you want to, and it is not about actors faking it?

I’ll tell you what happens:

It hurts even more.

There is no way to avoid the suffering when it comes to real life. Because after crying, we remember that it is not a story.

But what about changing the story? What if we could change the way it ends?

Wouldn’t you feel more powerful?

Yes, you would, without a doubt. And it could have a great impact in your life.

As a child I always wanted stories and movies to have a happy ending. Later on and now that I am a grown up, I still want books and movies and more importantly, life, to end as I want. And since I found it impossible long ago, I decided to look at it in a different way.

Now, when something happens and I don’t like it, I recreate the story in my mind. At first it sounds weird, but let me offer you an example.

So, Spartacus’s best friend, Varro, dies because of the stupidity of a young roman. And everything surrounding Varro, including his incredible relationship with Spartacus, dies with him.

So, I cried at first. It wasn’t good, it wasn’t noble, it was so unfair.

But then, my work began.   

How would I want the story to unfold instead? What would I change, how and why? I made all the changes in my mind.

So, Varro doesn’t die. Instead, a funny sequence takes place, and I now feel more powerful than ever.

It makes sense. Recreating the story makes perfect sense. I’ll tell you why.

The real story is not affected at all by the changes I’ve made. The director will not feel bad. The actors won’t stop performing. The only thing that really changed was my feeling about the story.

And that changed my entire world. 

Of course this is not only about tv series, but about real life. You can not change that your lover leaved you, or that a person you love died. But you can recreate the story. You can think about it in a different way, and use it to live better instead of worst. I’ve done this with many things from my real life, and you know what?

It works.

I encourage you to try this a little bit. Recreate in your mind some events that make you feel uncomfortable in some way. Play with them. If you can play with the things that make you feel bad, the world is yours. You have my word.

So, how would you want the story to unfold instead? 😉

I love you,

Leila.

3 comments

  1. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website,
    how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account
    helped me a appropriate deal. I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    offered brilliant transparent idea

    • Thank you so much for your words. You can subscribe to this blog by entering your email up above, on the right side. Hope to hear good news from you soon. You are doing a great job, keep it up 😉

Leave a Reply

